Thursday, May 27, 2021, 12 pm
Step Out of the Strange Light – Panel 2: Herstories from Post-Conflict Societies

With Slavenka Drakulić (author and journalist, Stockholm and Zagreb), Šejla Kamerić (artist, Berlin and Sarajevo), Gülsün Karamustafa (artist, Istanbul), Jasmila Žbanić (film director, screenwriter, and producer, Sarajevo), moderated by Lívia Páldi (curator, Budapest)
In English

The second panel discussion held on the occasion of the group exhibition Step Out of the Strange Light deals with relationships between transitional justice and artistic practices in the context of the Yugoslav Wars. Panel I brought together artists whose works address war crimes and their reappraisal. Panel II invites artists, writers, and academics who are engaging in feminist analyses of the underlying structures that shape women’s lives in post-conflict societies. 



The panel will discuss research-based practices that draw on autobiographical, political, cultural sources, as well as concepts of security and power, truth-seeking, and rehabilitation. Participants will reflect on ways of addressing the continued violence against women, historical memory, and genocide. Processes will be examined through which atrocities and traumas suffered by women are marginalized and erased from collective memory.

The panel will raise critical questions about ethics and navigating complex and painful processes and experiences, highlighting the need for strategies to confront communities about the repression of traumatic histories and potential reconciliation. This also includes the responsibility to create safe spaces and platforms that support women in articulating their haunting experiences in the face of being denied political justice and reparations.


Slavenka Drakulić (*1949 in Rijeka / Croatia, lives and works in Stockholm and Zagreb) is a journalist, novelist and essayist. Drakulić is recipient of the 2004 Leipzig Book Award for European Understanding for her essay They Would Never Hurt a Fly. War Criminals on Trial in the Hague (London: Penguin Books). In 2016, her novel Dora und der Minotaurus (Berlin: Aufbau TB) about Dora Maar and Pablo Picasso was published in Germany. In 2021, Drakulić released her collection of essays Café Europa Revisited: How to Survive Post-Communism (New York: Penguin Books) in the USA. As a journalist, she contributes to many international newspapers and magazines.

Šejla Kamerić (*1976 in Sarajevo, lives and works in Berlin and Sarajevo) is a visual artist known for her practice encompassing film, photography, objects and drawings. In 2011, she received the ECF Princess Margriet Award for Cultural Diversity. Her work has been shown in various international exhibitions, a. o. Museum of Contemporary Art Barcelona (solo, 2011); Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb (2011); Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville, Paris (2007). Moreover, her work aus been included in numerous collections including Tate Modern, London and Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam.

Gülsün Karamustafa (*1946 in Ankara, lives and works in Istanbul) received her diploma in 1969 at the Istanbul State Academy of Fine Arts. Karamustafa was a laureate of the 2014 Prince Claus Award for her outstanding achievement in the field of culture and development. Her work has been presented at numerous international exhibitions, a. o.: Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum of Contemporary Art (solo, 2016); São Paulo Biennial (2014); SALT, Istanbul (solo, 2013); Gwangju Biennale (2014; 2000).

Lívia Páldi (*1967 in Budapest, lives and works there) works as curator. She has organized lectures, workshops and numerous exhibitions and is the editor of various publications. Between 2017 and 2021 she was curator of visual arts at Project Arts Centre, Dublin. Páldi was the director of Baltic Art Center, Visby / Sweden (2012–2015) and chief curator at the Műcsarnok – Kunsthalle Budapest (2007–2011). She was one of the curatorial agents of Documenta 13 (2012) and member of the OFF-Biennale Budapest curatorial board in 2016.

Jasmila Žbanić (*1974 in Sarajevo, lives and works in Sarajevo and Berlin) is a graduate of the Dramatic Arts, Theatre and Film Directing Department at the University of Sarajevo. Her feature debut Grbavica (2006) won several prizes including the Golden Bear at the 56th Berlin International Film Festival. On the Path (2010) premiered in the Competition of the 60th Berlin International Film Festival; For Those Who Can Tell No Tales (2013) premiered at the 2013 Toronto Film Festival. Her film Quo Vadis, Aida? (2020) was nominated for the Best International Feature Film at the 93rd Academy Awards, Los Angeles. All her films were produced through Deblokada, an artists’ association and production company founded by Žbanić in 1997.

Donnerstag, 27. Mai 2021, 12 Uhr
Step Out of the Strange Light – Panel 2: Herstories from Post-Conflict Societies

Mit Slavenka Drakulić (Schriftstellerin und Journalistin, Stockholm und Zagreb), Šejla Kamerić (Künstlerin, Berlin und Sarajevo), Gülsün Karamustafa (Künstlerin, Istanbul), Jasmila Žbanić (Filmregisseurin, Drehbuchautorin und Produzentin, Sarajevo), moderiert von Lívia Páldi (Kuratorin, Budapest)
In englischer Sprache

Die zweite Paneldiskussion anlässlich der Gruppenausstellung Step Out of the Strange Light setzt sich im Kontext der Jugoslawienkriege mit Beziehungen zwischen einer Transitional Justice (Vergangenheitsarbeit) und künstlerischen Praktiken auseinander. Panel I brachte Künstler*innen zusammen, deren Werke den Umgang mit Kriegsverbrechen und ihrer Aufarbeitung thematisieren. Für Panel II wurden Künstlerinnen, Schriftstellerinnen und Filmemacherinnen eingeladen, die sich aus feministischer Perspektive mit Analysen jener Strukturen beschäftigen, die das Leben von Frauen in von ehemaligen militärischen Konflikten gezeichneten Gesellschaften prägen.



Sowohl forschungsbasierte Praktiken, die auf autobiografische, politische und kulturelle Quellen zurückgreifen, als auch Konzepte von Sicherheit, Macht, Wahrheitssuche und Rehabilitierung werden diskutiert. Die Teilnehmerinnen sprechen über Ansätze und Wege, andauernde Gewalt gegen Frauen ebenso zu thematisieren wie aktuelle Umgangsweisen mit historischer Erinnerung und dem Erbe des Völkermords. Im Vordergrund steht die Auseinandersetzung mit jenen Prozessen, durch die Gräueltaten und Traumata, die von Frauen erlitten wurden, marginalisiert und aus dem kollektiven Gedächtnis gelöscht werden.

Das Panel wirft kritische ethische Fragen dazu auf, wie komplexe und schmerzhafte Strukturen und Erfahrungen navigiert werden können und problematisiert die Notwendigkeit, Strategien zu entwickeln, wie die Gesellschaft mit der Verdrängung traumatischer Erlebnisse konfrontiert und zu einer möglichen Versöhnung herausgefordert werden kann. Nicht zuletzt geht es um die Verantwortung, sichere Räume und Plattformen zu schaffen, die Frauen dabei unterstützen, ihre schmerzhaften Erfahrungen zu artikulieren, angesichts dessen, dass ihnen politische Gerechtigkeit und Wiedergutmachung verweigert werden.


Slavenka Drakulić (*1949 in Rijeka / Kroatien, lebt und arbeitet in Stockholm und Zagreb) ist Journalistin, Roman-Autorin und Essayistin. 2004 erhielt sie den Leipziger Buchpreis zur Europäischen Verständigung für ihren Essay Keiner war dabei. Kriegsverbrechen auf dem Balkan vor Gericht (Wien: Zsolnay). 2016 erschien ihr Roman Dora und der Minotaurus (Berlin: Aufbau TB) über Dora Maar und Pablo Picasso in Deutschland. 2021 wurde ihre Essay-Sammlung Café Europa Revisited: How to Survive Post-Communism (New York: Penguin Books) in den USA veröffentlicht. Als Journalistin schreibt sie für eine Vielzahl internationaler Zeitungen und Magazine.

Šejla Kamerić (*1976 in Sarajevo, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Sarajevo) arbeitet als Künstlerin in den Medien Film, Fotografie, Installation und Zeichnung. 2011 wurde sie mit dem ECF Princess Margriet Award for Cultural Diversity ausgezeichnet. Ihr Werk war Teil zahlreicher internationaler Ausstellungen, u. a.: Museum of Contemporary Art Barcelona (Solo, 2011); Museum of Contemporary Art, Zagreb (2011); Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville, Paris (2007). Ihre Arbeiten sind in zahlreichen Sammlungen vertreten, darunter Tate Modern, London, und Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam.

Gülsün Karamustafa (*1946 in Ankara, lebt und arbeitet in Istanbul) absolvierte ihr Studium 1969 an der Mimar-Sinan-Universität der Bildenden Künste, Istanbul. 2014 erhielt sie den Prinz-Claus-Preis für herausragende Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Kultur und Entwicklung. Karamustafas Werke wurden in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen präsentiert, u. a.: Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (Solo, 2016); São Paulo Biennale (2014); SALT, Istanbul (Solo, 2013); Gwangju Biennale (2014; 2000).

Lívia Páldi
 (*1967 in Budapest, lebt und arbeitet ebenda) arbeitet als Kuratorin. Sie hat Vorträge, Workshops und zahlreiche Ausstellungen organisiert und ist Herausgeberin verschiedener Publikationen. Zwischen 2017 und 2021 war sie Kuratorin für Bildende Kunst am Project Arts Centre, Dublin. Davor leitete sie das Baltic Art Center, Visby / Schweden und war Chefkuratorin an der Műcsarnok – Kunsthalle Budapest (2007–2011). Sie war Teil des kuratorischen Teams der Documenta 13 (2012) und 2016 Mitglied des kuratorischen Boards der OFF Biennale Budapest.

Jasmila Žbanić
(*1974 in Sarajevo, lebt und arbeitet in Sarajevo und Berlin) ist Absolventin des Dramatic Arts, Theatre and Film Directing Department an der Universität Sarajevo. Ihr Spielfilmdebüt Esmas Geheimnis – Grbavica (2006) gewann mehrere Preise, darunter den Goldenen Bären bei den 56. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin und den Friedensfilmpreis 2006, Berlin. Zwischen uns das Paradies (2010) feierte seine Premiere im Wettbewerb der 60. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin; For Those Who Can Tell No Tales (2013) debütierte auf dem Toronto Film Festival 2013. Ihr Film Quo Vadis, Aida? (2020) wurde bei den 93. Academy Awards, Los Angeles, für den besten internationalen Spielfilm nominiert. Ihre Filme wurden von Deblokada produziert, einer 1997 von Žbanić gegründeten Künstlervereinigung und Produktionsfirma.