Thursday, July 30, 2020, 7 pm
Natascha Sadr Haghighian in conversation with Fahim Amir

Exhibition talk on the occasion of the exhibition passing one loop into another with Natascha Sadr Haghighian and Fahim Amir (philosopher and writer, Vienna)
In German


Natascha Sadr Haghighian develops installations, video and audio works, as well as performative interventions which reveal the infrastructures and conditions of our social order. Taking current and historical events as a point of departure, the artist addresses how our scope of action, structure of the gaze, and ultimately our thinking are formed. She shows the complex interdependencies and the mutual interpenetration of technology, politics, systems of value creation, and the biological, and calls into question our anthropocentric self-understanding. On July 30, Sadr Haghighian discusses her artistic practice with Fahim Amir (philosopher and cultural scientist, Vienna).

Natascha Sadr Haghighian was honored in 2020 by the State of Berlin with the Hannah Höch Advancement Award for outstanding artistic achievements by mid-career artists. On the occasion of her award, the artist is presenting a series of works in the exhibition
passing one loop into another in the Showroom of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) in which diverse thematic strands are interwoven in non-human figures.

Fahim Amir works at the intersections of nature-cultures and colonial historicities, performance and utopia, transcultural agency and urbanism. His book
Schwein und Zeit. Tiere, Politik, Revolte (»Being and Swine. Animals, Politics, Revolt«), published 2018 with Edition Nautilus, Hamburg, was awarded with the Austrian Karl-Marx-Price 2018 and selected for the top ten best non-fiction books of January 2019 (Sachbuch-Bestenliste) by ZDF, Deutschlandfunk Kultur und DIE ZEIT. Amir has been teaching at art academys in Vienna, Linz and São Paulo and curated, amongst others, the Live Art Festival Zoo3ooo: Occupy Species at Kampnagel Hamburg 2013 and exhibition programs (Salon Klimbim) at Secession Vienna in 2014. Amir co-edited Transcultural Modernisms (Sternberg Press, 2013) and recently provided the epilog to the German translation of Donna Haraways Companion Species Manifesto (Merve, 2016).

Donnerstag, 30. Juli 2020, 19 Uhr
Natascha Sadr Haghighian im Gespräch mit Fahim Amir

Gespräch anlässlich der Ausstellung passing one loop into another mit Natascha Sadr Haghighian und Fahim Amir (Philosoph und Autor, Wien)
In deutscher Sprache



Natascha Sadr Haghighian entwickelt Installationen, Video- und Audioarbeiten sowie performative Interventionen, die die Infrastrukturen und Bedingtheiten unserer Gesellschaftsordnung offenlegen. Ausgehend von aktuellen wie historischen Ereignissen, widmet sie sich der Frage, wie unsere Handlungsspielräume, Blickstrukturen und letztlich unser Denken formiert sind. Sie zeigt die komplexen Verflechtungen und die gegenseitige Durchdringung von Technologie, Politik, Wertschöpfungssystemen und dem Biologischen auf und stellt ein anthropozentrisches Selbstverständnis infrage. Am 30. Juli spricht Sadr Haghighian mit Fahim Amir (Philosoph und Künstler, Wien) über ihre künstlerische Praxis.

Natascha Sadr Haghighian wird 2020 vom Land Berlin mit dem Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis für herausragende künstlerische Leistungen in der Mitte ihrer Karriere gewürdigt. Anlässlich ihrer Auszeichnung präsentiert die Künstlerin im Showroom des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) die Ausstellung
passing one loop into another mit einer Reihe von Werken, in denen heterogene thematische Stränge sich in nicht-menschlichen Figuren verknüpfen.

Fahim Amir beschäftigt sich mit den Übergängen zwischen Natur-Kulturen und Urbanismus, Performance und Utopie, kolonialer Historizität und Modernismus. Sein 2018 erschienenes Buch
Schwein und Zeit. Tiere, Politik, Revolte (Edition Nautilus, Hamburg) wurde mit dem österreischen Karl-Marx-Preis 2018 ausgezeichnet und wurde 2019 als eines der 10 besten Bücher auf der Sachbuch-Bestenliste von ZDF, Deutschlandfunk Kultur und DIE ZEIT geführt. Amir hatte Gastprofessuren in Wien, Linz und São Paulo inne und arbeitete in unterschiedlichen Projekten mit Künstler*innen wie Deichkind, Chicks on Speed, Rocko Schamoni und Ted Gaier. Daneben war Amir Kurator von Symposien zu Neuer Musik (Darmstädter Ferienkurse), des Live-Art-Festivals Zoo3ooo: Occupy Species, Kampnagel Hamburg, 2013, und Ausstellungsprogrammen (Salon Klimbim, Secession Wien, 2014). Fahim Amir ist Mitherausgeber von Transcultural Modernisms (Sternberg Press, 2013) und Verfasser des Nachworts zu Donna Haraways Manifest für Gefährten (Merve, 2016).